Prenatal Yoga

Hey guys!! I hope you all had a great weekend. I have hit my third trimester and I am telling you the back pain that I had this weekend was so intense. I have been toying with the idea of doing prenatal yoga lately. I guess now would be the best time for me to start. This morning I got up and decided to do some research on it before starting out.

Benefits of Prenatal Yoga

Since I have been pregnant I have noticed that prenatal yoga is a very popular workout right now. When it is paired with cardio such as walking, yoga can be a fantastic way to keep in shape during your pregnancy. Yoga keeps you flexible, tones your muscles and improves circulation with little to no impact on your joints.

Another great thing is that yoga helps you to relax and work on your breathing. This is going to come in handy when you are ready to go into labor and giving birth. I mean I know I will want all the help in that area that I can get. If you have taken yoga before you know that it teaches you to breathe fully. Learning this will prepares you for labor by training you to stay calm. I do not know this for a fact but I am hoping that this is true! Proper breathing can help you when you want to tighten up due to pain and instead keep you feeling relaxed.

Studies have found that yoga can help your body deal with stress by slowing down your heart rate and lowering blood pressure. If you decide to take classes instead of working out at home it is also a great way to meet other new moms and to bond over your shared pregnancies.

Best Poses for Pregnancy

Here are some tips on some poses that can help while you are pregnant. I would recommend going to a class if you have never done yoga before. Do not attempt to try these poses on your own without proper instruction.

  • Cobbler’s or Tailor’s Pose (baddha konasana)
  • Pelvic Tilt or Cat-Cow
  • Squatting
  • Side-lying Position
  • Warrior 1 (virabhadrasana 1)
  • Warrior 2 (virabhadrasana 2)
  • Tree (vrkasana)
  • Downward-facing Dog (adho mukha vrksansana) 1st and 2nd trimester. Not recommended for the 3rd. You can find variations to do.

Prenatal Safety

As with doing any exercise during pregnancy, you need to be cautious. You will want to skip any yoga poses that keep you flat on your back for longer than a few minutes. Lying on your back can cause dizziness, shortness of breath and nausea. I have had no issue laying on my back but a lot of people do have problems doing that during their pregnancy.

For obvious reasons do not attempt head stands or shoulder stands. Especially if you have never done one before, this is not the time to be adventurous. You also want to skip poses that stretch the abs too much, such as deep forward bends, back bends and deep twists. During pregnancy it is more likely that you will tear and strain those muscles. This is because the pregnancy hormones that allow the uterus expand also loosens other tissues.

Another caution is to remember to keep your body temperature from getting to high. This means that you may not want to take up hot yoga or Bikram. This could cause very dangerous levels of over heating.

Search for some prenatal yoga classes near you!

pregnantyoga

Image courtesy of imagerymajestic / FreeDigitalPhotos.net


6 thoughts on “Prenatal Yoga

  1. I love Prenatal Yoga! I’ve been going since I was 10 weeks pregnant and have found it very helpful, if anything just to take some time and connect with the baby. Our place here also offers like 20 minutes of the class for all the pregnant ladies to talk about any discomfort or pain, so it’s been helpful in anticipating what is to come, as well as, in giving advice to moms who aren’t as far along yet. Good luck! I love it!

  2. Pingback: Modified Yoga for Pregnant Women | Kyrie's Blog

  3. Pingback: Yoga Reduces The Labor Pain Of Pregnant Woman | Find Me A Cure

  4. Pingback: Yoga and You: Staying Fit During Pregnancy | Natural Pregnancy

Leave a Reply

